Jacksonville Jaguars

The Jacksonville Jaguars who currently play in the AFC South division of the NFL were the 30th franchise of the National Football League when it was awarded on 30th November 1993. They player their first game in the 1995 AFC-NFC Hall of Fame Game against the other 1993 expansion franchise, The Carolina Panthers and lost narrowly by 20-14.

In their 1st NFL season, under then Head Coach Tom Coughlin the Jaguars’ managed a respectable 4-12 record, and the following year after a late season run, which corresponded with the promotion of Jimmy Smith to wide receiver the Jags went on to reach the AFC Championship game; losing to the New England Patriots. This was the start of a run of success which would last until the turn of the century. The following season they made the playoffs again, finishing with a 11-5 record. This caused a tie  with the Pittsburgh Steelers for the Central Division, however they lost the tie break and thus they were Wild cards and were knocked out by eventual Super Bowl winners the Denver Broncos.

The Jaguars won the division the following season and in 1999 set a franchise record 14-2, before going on to reach the AFC Championship game, where they lost to the Tennessee Titans 33-14. Ironically both regular season defeats were against the Titans so no 3rd time lucky for them despite the fact they led 14-10 in the Championship game at half time. Their form went downhill from then and they parted company with Tom Coughlin at the end of the 2002 season after 3 consecutive losing seasons.

He was replaced by Jack Del Rio and he has since guided them to the post season in 2005 and 2007 both times being eliminated by the New England Patriots. Despite the inconsistency of late at the end of the 2009 season they have a respectable overall record of 125 wins and 115 losses.

Jacksonville Jaguars Honours

Divisional champions

AFC Central:

1998, 1999

NFL Playoffs :

1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2005, 2007

Jacksonville Jaguars Videos