Kansas City Chiefs

The Kansas City Chiefs currently play in the AFC West division of the NFL and have been based in Kansas City since relocating from Dallas in 1963. . The Chiefs were a charter member of the American Football League (AFL) joining in 1960 under their original name the Dallas Texans.

They were quite successful in their early days winning three league championships in 1962, 1966, 1969 and they beat the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl IV.

Success was harder to come by during the remainder of the 1970s and 1980s as the Chiefs only managed a solitary appearance in the playoffs in 1986. However in the 1990s they rediscovered their early winning ways and from 1990 – 97 Kansas only missed the playoff once.

Since then they have lacked any real consistency and apart from a divisional title in 2003 and a play off place in 2006 they have struggled to make any impression in the AFC West.  

Kansas City Honours

AFL Champions

1962, 1966, 1969

Super Bowl Champions

1969 (IV)

Division championships

 AFL West: 1962, 1966

AFC West: 1971, 1993, 1995, 1997, 2003

 Playoff appearances

AFL: 1962, 1966, 1968, 1969

 NFL: 1971, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2003,2006

 Kansas City Chiefs Videos