Deion Sanders & Marshall Faulk both Join The Hall of Fame at The First Opportunity

Deion Sanders and Marshall Faulk were both elected into the NFL Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility, and were joined by Shannon Sharpe who won 3 Superbowl rings with the Denver Broncos and Baltimore Ravens. The others elected were Richard Dent, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter and Ed Sabol.


Les Richter was elected postumously and Ed Sabol who is 94 received his place due to his achievements with NFL Films.

Richard Dent who played Defensive end for 15 seasons finally got his recognition and is best remembered for being part of the devastating 1985 Chcago Bears defense which lifted the Superbowl that year.

Line Backer Chris Hanburger was a 9 times Pro Bowl selection and although he never won a Superbowl he played for the Redskins in Superbolw 7 where they only gave up 14 points in defeat.

Only 13,300 turned up for the celebrations, probably due to the uncertaintity caused by the lockout, however those who did turn out will never forget Deion Sanders outfit – glitzy to say the least.

Deion Saunders HOF Speech

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>