Buffalo Bills

Buffalo Bills AFC East

The Buffalo Bills who currently play in the AFC East Division of the NFL began their pro football life in 1959 when they became the seventh team in the then new American Football League. Success came as early as 1963 when they tied for the AFL Eastern division crown before losing in a playoff to the Boston Patriots. In both 1964 and 1965 they won  the AFL championship beating San Diego Chargers in both games with Buffalo legend Lou Saban as Head Coach.

In 1966 Buffalo almost got to play in the inaugural Super Bowl but lost the 1966 AFL Championship to the Kansas City Chiefs. This was the end of the Bills early success and they were not able to win a divisional title again until 1980.

The introduction of Marv Levy, in 1986 soon to galvanised the Bills into a AFC force again and from 1988 on the Bills won five AFC Eastern titles in six years making the playoffs in all six seasons. Unfortunately during this run Buffalo gained the unenviable accolade of being the only team ever to lose in four straight Super Bowls. On the strength of this excellent achievement Marv Levy was inducted to the Hall of Fame in 2001.

The Bills enjoyed more success through the 1990s making the playoffs on several occasions, however the 2000s have not been so kind and the Bills have not played in the post season since 1999.

In a tough division featuring The New England Patriots, New York Jets and Miami Dolphins it could be a few seasons yet before they are a playoff team again.

Buffalo Bills Honours

League champions

  • AFL Champions
    1964, 1965

Conference champions

  • AFC: 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993

Division champions

  • AFL East: 1964, 1965, 1966
  • AFC East: 1980, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1995

Playoff appearances (17)

  • AFL: 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966
  • NFL: 1974, 1980, 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999

Buffalo Bills Videos

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]